Fixtures, how to watch and England’s odds

England will follow the aggressive mindset of the men’s team as they fine-tune preparations for the Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa, according to bowler Sarah Glenn.

Jon Lewis’ squad play their final warm-up ahead of the tournament against New Zealand in Cape Town on Wednesday following an impressive victory over South African in a high-scoring contest.

Since being appointed in May last year, head coach Brendon McCullum and Ben Stokes have transformed the fortunes of the men’s national team, encouraging an attacking style of play.

Glenn feels taking elements of ‘Bazball’ into the shorter format can provide England with an extra edge as they look to break Australia’s dominance of the women’s game.

When and where is it?

The 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup starts on Friday in South Africa with the hosts kicking things off against Sri Lanka. Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha will all host matches, with the knockout games to be played in Cape Town.

The final will be held on February 26 with a reserve day available on February 27.

Who is taking part?

Defending champions (and five-time winners) Australia are grouped alongside Trans-Tasmanian rivals New Zealand and hosts South Africa in Group 1, which also includes Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. England, India, West Indies, Pakistan and Ireland are in Group 2.

Group 1

Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh 

Group 2

England, India, West Indies, Pakistan, Ireland

What are England’s group fixtures?

  • Saturday, February 11: West Indies vs England, 1pm
  • Monday, February 13: Ireland vs England, 1pm
  • Saturday, February 18: England vs India, 1pm
  • Tuesday, February 21: England vs Pakistan, 1pm

Full fixtures and schedule

  • Friday, February 10: South Africa vs Sri Lanka, 5pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Saturday, February 11: West Indies vs England, 1pm GMT (Paarl)
  • Saturday, February 11: Australia vs New Zealand, 5pm GMT (Paarl)
  • Sunday, February 12: India vs Pakistan, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Sunday, February 12: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, 5pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Monday, February 13: Ireland vs England, 1pm GMT (Paarl)
  • Monday, February 13: South Africa vs New Zealand, 5pm GMT (Paarl)
  • Tuesday, February 14: Australia vs Bangladesh, 5pm GMT  (Gqeberha)
  • Wednesday, February 15: West Indies vs India, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Wednesday, February 15: Pakistan vs Ireland, 5pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Thursday, February 16: Sri Lanka vs Australia, 1pm GMT (Gqeberha)
  • Friday, February 17: New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Friday, February 17: West Indies vs Ireland, 5pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Saturday, February 18: England vs India, 1pm GMT (Gqeberha)
  • Saturday, February 18: South Africa vs Australia, 5pm GMT (Gqeberha)
  • Sunday, February 19: Pakistan vs West Indies, 1pm GMT (Paarl)
  • Sunday, February 19: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka, 5pm GMT (Paarl)
  • Monday, February 20: Ireland vs India, 1pm GMT (Gqeberha)
  • Tuesday, February 21: England vs Pakistan, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Tuesday, February 21: South Africa vs Bangladesh, 5pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Thursday, February 23: Semi-final 1, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Friday, February 24: Semi-final 2, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Sunday, February 26: Final, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)

How can I watch?

All matches are live on Sky Sports.

What is the tournament format?

In the group games, which run until February 21, each team will take on the other four teams in their group once. The top two teams in each group at the end of the group stage play the semi-finals. 

Who is in England’s squad?

England all-rounder Alice Capsey will be given every opportunity to prove her fitness for the World Cup.

Capsey has been included in Jon Lewis’ 15-strong squad for the tournament in the hope she can recover from the broken collarbone sustained in the opening one-day international against the West Indies last month.

The 18-year-old from Surrey was awarded her first central England contract in November in a breakthrough 2022 that also saw her shortlisted for the ICC women’s emerging cricketer of the year award.

Bowler Kate Cross has been added to the squad that swept aside the West Indies and could make her first T20 appearance for England since 2019, while Issy Wong and Dani Gibson will be present as travelling reserves.

  • Heather Knight (Western Storm, captain)
  • Lauren Bell (Southern Vipers)
  • Maia Bouchier (Southern Vipers)
  • Katherine Brunt (Northern Diamonds)
  • Alice Capsey (South East Stars)
  • Kate Cross (Thunder)
  • Freya Davies (South East Stars)
  • Charlie Dean (Southern Vipers)
  • Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars)
  • Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder)
  • Sarah Glenn (Central Sparks)
  • Amy Jones (Central Sparks)
  • Nat Sciver (Northern Diamonds)
  • Lauren Winfield-Hill (Northern Diamonds)
  • Danni Wyatt (Southern Vipers)

Travelling reserves: Issy Wong (Central Sparks), Dani Gibson (Western Storm)

What are the best of the latest odds?

  • Australia: 4/7
  • India: 9/1
  • England: 5/1
  • New Zealand: 10/1
  • South Africa: 25/1
  • West Indies: 50/1
  • Pakistan: 80/1
  • Sri Lanka: 150/1
  • Bangladesh: 250/1
  • Ireland: 500/1

Odds last updated February 10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *